HOME  ~ ABOUT US ~ BUY TICKETS ~ SPONSORS ~ PRESS KIT ~ CONTACT US
Pullman Memorial Universalist Church
10 East Park Street, Albion, NY 14411
~ Google Map

This extraordinary landmark was designed by Solon S. Beman for George M. Pullman, who gave it to the local Universalist congregation in 1895. Built of pink Medina sandstone, it was described as “Old English Gothic” in style. Pullman (1831-1897), the noted manufacturer of railroad sleeping cars, grew up in Albion before leaving for Chicago where he made his fortune.

The church sanctuary is cruciform in plan with forty-one Tiffany stained glass windows. The largest, entitled, “Christ the Consoler,” is signed by Tiffany and reputedly cost $5,000 when installed in 1894. All the woodwork is quarter-sawed golden oak with gothic revival detailing. The pipe organ was built by the Johnson Company of Westfield, Massachusetts. It contains 1,248 pipes in 22 ranks with facial pipes having been decorated in gold leaf at Tiffany Studios. In 2005, the sanctuary was redecorated in a restoration color scheme, thus the dark late Victorian colors. The ceiling in the crossing, however, is original, being stenciled canvas created at Tiffany Studios and then applied. There also is the original electric light fixture with 43 branches.

The present congregation recognizes the importance of this unique edifice and has made every effort to maintain its integrity. Indeed it looks the same today as it did in 1895.

Copyright © 2010 Eastman at Albion : All rights reserved : Site Designer - Sea Jay's Designs